AZENet Board of Directors


Wendy L. Wolfersteig, Ph.D, Director of Evaluation and Partner Contracts
Southwest Interdisciplinary Research Center
Arizona State University

Dr. Wendy L. Wolfersteig serves as Director of Evaluation and Partner Contracts at the Southwest Interdisciplinary Research Center at Arizona State University.  For 18 years, her work in substance abuse prevention and evaluation in Arizona have focused on the use of effective evidence-based strategies and data-driven decision-making. She leads her team in working collaboratively with state, county, city and local partners to design and perform evaluations, provide training, and disseminate findings aimed at preventing, reducing, and eliminating health disparities. Dr. Wolfersteig serves as a member (former chair) of the Arizona Substance Abuse Epidemiology Work Group. She is a faculty associate in the School of Social Work at ASU, and an adjunct associate professor in the College of Business at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Worldwide.


Jenny McCullough Cosgrove, MSW, Independent Evaluation Consultant
Noesis Consulting, LLC

Jenny McCullough Cosgrove practices as an independent consultant in Arizona and across the U.S.A. Beginning her career in the field of cognitive psychology, she transitioned to a larger systems focus of practice in program evaluation and community-based research. Jenny’s passion is to use evaluation to advance inclusion and equity.

Immediate Past President

Michele Cranwell Schmidt, MPA, Senior Evaluation Associate
LeCroy & Milligan Associates, Inc.


Michele Schmidt, MPA, is a Senior Evaluation Associate at LeCroy & Milligan Associates and has 18 years of experience in providing evaluation and research services for statewide, regional, and local non-profit and government programs. Her areas of expertise include: child welfare, foster and kinship care services; early childhood education, family literacy, and home visitation programs; teen pregnancy prevention; prisoner re-entry programs; and education and technology. Ms. Schmidt has extensive experience in qualitative and quantitative evaluation methodologies and developing and implementing quality assurance reviews of programs. Prior to joining LeCroy & Milligan Associates in 2012, Ms. Schmidt was an Evaluation and Research Specialist and Lecturer at the University of Vermont.

Vice President of Administration

Nicole Huggett, MSW, CPHQ, Director of Performance Outcomes
CODAC Health, Recovery & Wellness, Inc.

Nicole Huggett, MSW, is the Director of Performance Outcomes for CODAC Health, Recovery & Wellness. This role requires the identification and tracking of key performance indicators for several programs within the nonprofit, and leading related performance improvement projects. Prior to joining CODAC, she worked as a consultant in evaluation, research, and strategic planning for non-profits and government programs. She completed a Masters of Social Work at Arizona State University in 2011, and she is also a Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality. Nicole’s passion is employing best practice design principles in data visualization to increase the utilization of data among clinicians, with the ultimate goal of improving patient experience and outcomes while ensuring efficient operations.

Vice President of Budget and Finance

Scott Swagerty, Ph.D.
Methodologist, Office of the Arizona Auditor General

Dr. Scott Swagerty presently serves as the methodologist for the Office of the Arizona Auditor General. In this role, he provides technical support to performance audit teams in the areas of research design, data analysis, sampling methods, and statistical modeling. Prior to this role, he worked in the Department of Institutional Research at Rio Salado College and as Graduate Teaching Associate at Arizona State University. Dr. Swagerty’s expertise is in quantitative methodologies, including predictive modeling and Bayesian statistics. He received his Ph.D. in Political Science from Arizona State University in 2015.

External Communications Chair

Deven Wisner, MS, Principal Consultant
Wisner Analytics

Deven Wisner, M.S., is trained in applied psychology, with concentrations in evaluation research, and industrial-organizational psychology. His 9-5 role is managing human capital and business analytics for a legal services company, Global Registration Services, Inc., located in Tucson, Arizona. By night, Deven is a consultant focused on bringing data and research based decision making into a variety of organizations. Proudly, he identifies as a “dataviz” nerd and enjoys storytelling through infographics. Deven’s research interests are in evaluation methods and approaches, as well as interpersonal effectiveness among evaluators and stakeholders.

Membership Recruitment Chair


Phoenix Region Co-Chair

Paul Bergelin

Phoenix Region Co-Chair

Kathryn D. Hamm, MPA, Research Analyst
Southwest Interdisciplinary Research Center
Arizona State University

Kathryn Hamm, MPA, has extensive experience in conducting all types of evaluation for the past 19 years. Ms. Hamm has strong skills in all areas of program evaluation. She currently coordinates the evaluation for a county-wide teen pregnancy prevention program, a parent education drug prevention program and two evaluations for the Blackwater Community Preschool programs. She has also been responsible for managing the evaluation and follow up for grant recipient of a Safe Schools/Healthy Students initiative and several 21st Century Community Learning Centers grants as well as the evaluation of the Olweus Bullying Prevention Program. She also designed and implemented a data collection system for statewide tobacco prevention and cessation programs and managed a multi-university program evaluation collaboration. Previously, she managed the Washington Elementary School District Arts in Education grant, conducted the evaluation for the Childsplay Arts in Education grant (AEMDD) and completed a six-year follow-up study of Project Challenge graduates, a residential program for high-risk youth administered by the Arizona National Guard.

Tucson Region Chair

Kimberly Jaeger Johnson, MPA
Illume Advising, LLC

Kimberly Jaeger Johnson, MPA, has a background in research and program management working with non-profits, collaborative groups, and governmental agencies. Kimberly understands the importance of stakeholder engagement at all stages of an evaluation. Using the Utilization-Focused Evaluation approach, she has implemented various types of evaluation activities that inform program and policy decisions. Kimberly uses experimental and quasi-experimental designs to measure program outcomes.  She builds data collection protocols like surveys, focus groups, key informant interviews, participant observations, forms to gather process data, and other protocols depending on the needs of the project.  She is skilled in quantitative evaluation methods using both parametric and non-parametric statistics. She is also skilled in qualitative evaluation methods including thematic and content analysis. She works with large data sets, designs databases, facilitates shared data collection across providers, helps stakeholders to build capacity for internal data management, and reports data visually to facilitate interpretation and utilization.Kimberly has a Master in Public Administration and Certificate in Collaborative Governance from the University of Arizona.

Local Affiliate Collaborative Representative

Allison Titcomb

Past Presidents of AZENet

2015  Maria Aguilar-Amaya
2014  Michel Lahti
2013  Cassandra O'Neill & Amy Ashley
2012  Lenay Dunn
2011  Cassandra O'Neill
2010  Shelly Potts
2009  Lois Sayrs
2006-2008  Michelle Anderson
2005  John Vivian
2003-2004  Rick Duran & Ric Wood
2002  Allison Titcomb
2001  Steve Powers
2000  Craig LeCroy & Heather Campbell  
1999  Barbara Nienstedt
1998  Dennis Palumbo
1997  BJ Tatro

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software